My Plantcentric Journey

The strapping 6-foot-2 Dax became a vegan in January 2012 after learning that his “Hit and Run” co-star Beau Bridges maintains his age-defying health with a vegan diet. “When I saw his age was 70, I almost crapped myself,” Dax told the October 2012 issue of Playboy. “I would go, ‘Beau, you’re not supposed to be able to punch somebody out in a scene at 70. My grandpa couldn’t have done that. What’s your secret?’ And he goes, ‘I’ve been a vegan for 12 years.’ I was like, ‘I need to think about this.’ And then I saw the documentary ‘Forks Over Knives’ and I was like, I’m in. I’ve been a vegan since January.”

"I sleep 15% better. I have fewer body aches. My skin looks better. I’m never starving [on a vegan diet]."

Actor Dax Shepard has abused drugs and alcohol, ate poorly, and did pretty much everything a person could do to ruin his health, but has experienced a dramatic transformation since switching to a vegan diet.

The strapping 6-foot-2 Dax became a vegan in January 2012 after learning that his “Hit and Run” co-star Beau Bridges maintains his age-defying health with a vegan diet.

“When I saw his age was 70, I almost crapped myself,” Dax told the October 2012 issue ofPlayboy. “I would go, ‘Beau, you’re not supposed to be able to punch somebody out in a scene at 70. My grandpa couldn’t have done that. What’s your secret?’

“And he goes, ‘I’ve been a vegan for 12 years.’ I was like, ‘I need to think about this.’ And then I saw the documentary ‘Forks Over Knives’ and I was like, I’m in. I’ve been a vegan since January.”

Shepard’s fiancée, actress Kristen Bell, is a longtime vegetarian who made the conversion with him. Dax says he has never felt better.

“It’s nothing like the pill in ‘The Matrix’ but damn good, like 15% across the board in every respect,” he says. “I sleep 15% better. My allergies are at least 15% better. I have fewer body aches. My skin looks better. I’m never starving, and I never need to ride the couch feeling completely full and disgusting.”

Despite his ripped physique, Shepard, 37, didn’t always make health a priority.

“From 18 to 29 I was a heavy smoker, heavy drinker, drug addict, terrible eater and philanderer,” he says. “I just loved to get f**ked-up—drinking, cocaine, opiates, marijuana, diet pills, pain pills, everything. Mostly my love was Jack Daniel’s and cocaine.”

Dax, who has dated some beautiful actresses, including Kate Hudson, is feeling better and happier since curbing his self-destructive habits. Shepard confesses he still drinks too much coffee and smokes cigarettes, but otherwise life is better than ever.

“The past eight years since I got sober have honestly been about trying to peel back each of those habits, to get back to the 12-year-old kid inside who was tremendously excited about life,” he says.

Comments on: "Actor Dax Shepard switches to vegan diet: ‘My life is 15% better’" (1)

  1. Right here is the right site for anybody who wants to find out about this topic.
    You realize so much its almost tough to argue with you (not that I really would want to…HaHa).
    You definitely put a new spin on a topic which has been written about for ages.
    Great stuff, just wonderful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

