My Plantcentric Journey

I’m not from the South.  In the South, on New Years Day, they eat black eyed peas.  I’ve never even had black eyed peas!  By the way, they’re not peas, but actually beans. Who knew!  Every year that I’ve been alive, we’ve had Pork and Sauerkraut for good luck on New Years Day.  Well, not this year.

This year, I made it my mission to find a recipe using black eyed peas.  And boy did I find one!  I actually found two.

Enlightened Hoppin’ John

hoppin john

See recipe at:  http://www.ecomii.com/blogs/food/2010/12/24/serve-hoppin%e2%80%99-john-for-good-luck-on-new-year%e2%80%99s-day/

This has serrano chilies, ( did not use the olive oil the recipe called for), garlic, onion, red bell pepper, celery, baby carrots, Veggie Canadian Bacon (I used Lifehouse Fakin’ Bacon http://www.lightlife.com/Vegan-Food-Vegetarian-Diet/Organic-Smoky-Tempeh-Strips), black eyed peas, brown rice, Mexican stewed tomatoes.

 

The other recipe I loved was Black-Eyed Pea Masala.

Get the recipe here:  http://blog.fatfreevegan.com/2010/01/black-eyed-pea-masala.html

This was the first recipe I ever made with an Indian spice blend called Garam Masala.  Instead of making it myself, I found it in the bulk section of Whole Foods.  I have since found it at my local Walmart!  It’s made by McCormick Gourmet Collection Blends.  This recipe also called for another spice I was unfamiliar with:  Asafetida.  I have not been able to find that yet, so I just left it out.

Black eyed peas, onion, cumin, ginger root, garlic, cayenne, turmeric, can diced tomatoes.  Excellent.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

